Another women’s major in a major at the Congressional




Location: Bethesda, Maryland.

Course: Congressional CC (Blue). Mileage: 6,831. Score: 72.

Prize money: $4.5 million. Winner’s share: $675,000.

TV: Thursday to Friday 11am to 3pm (Golf Channel), Saturday to Sunday 1pm to 4pm (NBC).

Defending champion: Nelly Korda.

Race for CME Globe Leader: Minjee Lee.

Last week: Jennifer Kupcho won the Meijer LPGA Classic.

Notes: The LPGA Tour has its second Major in three weeks. … The first two Majors were won by Jennifer Kupcho (Chevron Championship) and Minjee Lee (US Women’s Open). They are the only players with multiple wins on the LPGA Tour this season. … Congress last hosted a major when Rory McIlroy won the US Open by eight shots in 2011. … The PGA of America last went to the Congressional for a main event in 1976 when Dave Stockton won the PGA Championship 1-to-281. It was the last time a PGA champion was over par. … Korda finished eighth and finished second in both of her events since returning from a blood clot. … Korda won for her first major at the Atlanta Athletic Club last year. The win propelled her to No. 1 in the women’s world rankings for the first time. … Six women have already made more than $1 million this year, five months before the end of the season. Lee leads by winning the Women’s Open with over $2.6 million of her $1.8 million. … Jin Young Ko in 2018 became the last woman to win multiple majors in the same season.

Next Tournament: Dow Great Lakes Bay Invitational July 13-16.





Location: Cromwell, Connecticut.

Route: TPC River Highlands. Mileage: 6,852. Score: 70.

Prize money: $8.3 million. Winner’s Share: $1,494,000.

TV: Thursday-Friday, 3pm-6pm (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 1pm-3pm (Golf Channel), 3pm-6pm (CBS).

Defending champion: Harris English.

FedEx Cup leader: Scottie Scheffler.

Last week: Matt Fitzpatrick won the US Open.

Notes: The field no longer includes Will Zlatoris, who retired after his second-place finish at the US Open. It also no longer features Dustin Johnson and Bryson DeChambeau, who withdrew after deciding to sign on to the Saudi-backed LIV golf series. … Harris English will be looking to defend his title in just his third event since returning from hip surgery that kept him away from golf for four months. English made the cut at the US Open last week to extend his streak to 15 straight Majors without missing a cut. … Rory McIlroy has moved up to world No. 2 and joins world No. 1 Scottie Scheffler in the TPC River Highlands field. … McIlroy and Zalatoris are the only players to have made the top 10 in all three majors this year. … In addition to four wins, Scheffler has four vice-place finishes this season. One of them was at the unofficial Hero World Challenge in the Bahamas. … The Travelers field includes five of the top 10 players in the world – Scheffler, McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Patrick Cantlay and Sam Burns.

Next week: John Deere Classic.





Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

Course: Saucon Valley CC (old course). Mileage: 7,028. Score: 71.

Prize money: $4 million. Winner’s share: $720,000.

TV: Thursday-Friday, 2pm-7pm (Peacock); Saturday-Sunday, 2pm-3pm (Peacock), 3pm-7pm (Golf Channel).

Defending champion: Jim Furyk.

Leader in the Charles Schwab Cup: Steven Alker.

Last Tournament: Thongchai Jaidee won the American Family Insurance Championship.

Notes: The US Senior Open returns to Saucon Valley for a third year. Hale Irwin won in 2000 and Larry Laoretti won in 1992. … Steve Stricker (Tradition) and Steven Alker (Senior PGA) won the first two Majors of the season. … This is the 100th anniversary of the Old Course, which opened two years after the club was founded in 1920. … Saucon Valley has hosted seven USGA championships. Past winners include Billy Maxwell at the 1951 US Amateur and Eun-Hee Ji at the 2009 US Women’s Open. … The winner will be stripped of the US Open next year at the Los Angeles Country Club. … Alker needs $64,000 to surpass $2 million in season earnings at PGA Tour Champions. He has a $713,249 lead over Miguel Angel Jimenez in the Schwab Cup standings. … The US Senior Open has not had a playoff since Colin Montgomerie defeated Gene Sauers at the Oak Tree in Oklahoma in 2014. … The championship moves to SentryWorld in Wisconsin next year.

Next tournament: Bridgestone Senior Players Championship from July 7th to 10th.

Online: and




Location: Munich.

Place: Munich Eichenried GC. Mileage: 7,284. Score: 72.

Prize money: 2 million euros. Winner’s share: 333,333 euros.

TV: Thursday-Friday, 6:30am-10am (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 7:30am to 12:00pm (Golf Channel).

Defending champion: Viktor Hovland.

DP World Tour points leader: Will Zalatoris.

Last week: Matt Fitzpatrick won the US Open.

Notes: Viktor Hovland is not in the field as the defending champion. He was announced as a Travelers Championship player on the PGA Tour last week and then retired late. … Billy Horschel is playing his first regular European tour event this year. He won the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth last year. … Sergio Garcia, Martin Kaymer and Louis Oosthuizen are among 11 players in the field who also played the Saudi-backed LIV Golf event outside of London two weeks ago without receiving any releases. The European tour has not announced what sanctions it could impose. … The tournament dates back to 1989 when David Feherty won the inaugural event. … Paul Azinger won the BMW International Open in 1990 and 1992, while John Daly was the last American winner in 2001. … This is the second and last European tour event in Germany, both in June.

Next week: Horizon Irish Open.





Location: Falmouth, Maine.

Course: Falmouth CC. Mileage: 7,299. Score: 71.

Prize money: $750,000. Winner’s share: $135,000.

TV: No.

Previous winner: Chad Ramey.

Leader: Carl Yuan.

Last week: Norman Xiong won the Wichita Open.

Next week: The Ascendant.




Epson Tour: Island Resort, Sweetgrass GC, Harris, Michigan. Previous winner: Morgane Metraux. Online:

Asian Tour: Korea Open, Woo Jeong Hills CC, Cheonan, South Korea. Defending champion: Junseok Lee. Online:

Royal & Ancient: British Women’s Amateur, Hunstanton GC, Hunstanton, England. Defending champion: Louise Duncan. TV: Friday-Saturday, 2:30am-11am (Golf Channel). Online:

Japan Golf Tour: Japan Players Championship, Nishi Nasuno CC, Tochigi, Japan. Defending champion: Naoyuki Kataoka. Online:

Challenge Tour: Blot Open de Bretagne, Golf Blue Green de Pléneuf Val André, Pléneuf, France. Previous winner: Julien Brun. Online:

Ladies European Tour: Tipsport Czech Ladies Open, Beroun GC. Beroun, Czech Republic. Defending champion: Atthaya Thitikul. Online:

PGA Tour Latinoamerica: Shell Championship, PGA Riviera Maya, Tulum, Mexico. Previous winner: Augusto Nunez. Online:

Mackenzie Tour: Elk Ridge Open, Elk Ridge Resort (tournament), Waskesiu Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada. Defending Champion: New Event. Online:

Japan LPGA: Earth Mondahmin Cup, Camellia Hills CC, Chiba, Japan. Defending champion: Erika Kikuchi. Online:

Korean LPGA: BC Card Hankyung Ladies Cup, Fortune Hills GC, Pocheon, South Korea. Defending Champion: Jin-hee Im. Online:


More AP Golf: and


Comments are closed.